Board of Directors

Leadership with Your Business in Mind

The Newport News Economic and Industrial Development Authorities are governed by a Board of Directors. The group's main goal is to further the mission of the EDA/IDA by helping to grow and diversify the tax and employment base of the City of Newport News.

Alonzo R. Bell, Jr., CCIM

Chair (2019), Member of the Board since 2017

Mr. Bell is the Senior Vice President of Harvey Lindsay Commercial Real Estate, and has over 30 years of experience in commercial real estate brokerage.

Jennifer Smith-Brown

Vice Chair (2019), Member of the Board since 2015

Mrs. Smith-Brown is Managing Partner of J. Smith Enterprises, a family-owned Owner/Operator firm responsible for the franchise operations of several McDonald's restaurants.

Mary C. Aldrich

Member of the Board since 2017

Ms. Aldrich is Chief Operating Officer of PBMares, LLP, a leading accounting and business consulting firm serving U.S. and international clients, with offices in the Mid-Atlantic.

Cassandra P. Greene

Member of the Board since 2013

Mrs. Greene is a retired senior finance and communications executive, formerly of Sara Lee Corporation and the U.S. Small Business Administration, and serves on several non-profit boards on the Peninsula.

Howard H. Hoege III

Member of the Board since 2019

Mr. Hoege is President and CEO of the Mariners’ Museum and Park located in Newport News.

Jonathan P. Skinner

Member of the Board since 2017

Mr. Skinner is Vice President of Acquisitions and Development at Harrison and Lear, Inc., a diversified real estate company operating in Hampton Roads for over 60 years.

Jeffrey C. Verhoef

Member of the Board since 2017

Mr. Verhoef serves in a leadership role with PIVOT Physical Therapy, Inc., an out-patient physical therapy practice dedicated to the active work, play, and daily living needs of people in throughout the Mid-Atlantic region.